What is the history of Homeless Youth Awareness Month?
In the United States, there are many different ways to define homelessness and homeless youth. The United States Interagency Council on Homelessness has compiled definitions of these terms from U.S. government agencies like the Department of Education, the Department of Housing and Urban Development, and the Department of Health and Human Services, which reflect the range of situations that can result in an individual becoming homeless. In general though, homelessness is defined by the Encyclopedia Britannica as “the state of having no home or permanent place of residence” with homeless youth, including children and teens, being a specific group affected by homelessness. According to The National Child Traumatic Stress Network, Homeless Youth Awareness Month began in November 2007. Each November since has been used to acknowledge the youth and families experiencing homelessness.
YVONNE M. VISSING. Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind: Homeless Children and Families in Small-Town America. 1st ed. The University Press of Kentucky, 1996. Print. (This book can also be found online.)
Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind: Homeless Children and Families in Small-Town America discusses the growing issue of homelessness among children and families in small town and rural areas of the United States. Vissing uses interviews and case studies with three hundred children and families as well as statistics from federal, state and private agencies to illustrate the impact of homelessness on education, health and the economy.
Rensel, Jan, and Margaret Rodman Critchlow. Home in the Islands : Housing and Social Change in the Pacific. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1997. Print. (This book can also be found online.)
Home in the Islands : Housing and Social Change in the Pacific examines the idea of housing among Pacific Islanders and how it has been affected in response to social change. Social changes discussed in the book include colonial and missionary agendas, local and global economies, environmental disasters, cultural identities, social connections, family continuity and personal choice. Judith Modell’s chapter “(Not) In My Back Yard: Housing the Homeless in Hawai‘i” from the collected chapters specifically addresses how native Hawaiians have been affected by homelessness.
Kusmer, Kenneth L. Down and Out, on the Road: The Homeless in American History. Cary: Oxford University Press, 2001. Print. (This book can also be found online.)
Down & Out, on the Road the Homeless in American History explores the history of the homelessness in the United States that began in the colonial era and continues into the late-20th century. Using information from charitable organizations and personal memoirs, Kusmer highlights how homelessness has been present in the United States for over 200 years.
Howes, Craig, and Jonathan Kay Kamakawiwo’ole Osorio. The Value of Hawai`i: Knowing the Past, Shaping the Future. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 2010. Print. (This book can also be found online.)
The Value of Hawai`i: Knowing the Past, Shaping the Future includes brief essays addressing various topics that have shaped the current state of Hawaii today. Some topics discussed include education, the environment, Hawaiian issues, tourism, poverty and other related topics. Trisha Kehaulani Watson’s chapter on homelessness in part four of the book discusses the topic of Hawaiians and homelessness.
Slesnick, Natasha. Our Runaway and Homeless Youth: A Guide to Understanding. Vol. 1. Santa Barbara: Praeger, 2004. eBook.
Our Runaway and Homeless Youth: A Guide to Understanding examines the issue of runaway and homeless children and teenagers. Using interviews with three runways and a parent of a homeless teen, Slesnick examines the different types of runaway and homeless youth, what happens to them when they leave home and why they choose or are asked to leave their home. She also discusses resources and programs for parents and families with runaway youths.
Salek, Fabiola, and David C Brotherton. Globalizing the Streets: Cross-Cultural Perspectives on Youth, Social Control, and Empowerment. New York: Columbia University Press, 2008. eBook.
Globalizing the Streets: Cross-Cultural Perspectives on Youth, Social Control, and Empowerment features a series of essays examining aspects of the street youth experience from different global environments. Essays include discussion of youth experiences related to social control, surveillance, gangs, subcultures of whiteness and interventions for youth in crisis. Part two of the book focuses on three essays about street youth and homelessness.
Gibson, Kristina E. Street Kids : Homeless Youth, Outreach, and Policing New York’s Streets. New York, NY: New York University Press, 2011. eBook.
Street Kids : Homeless Youth, Outreach, and Policing New York’s Streets is the culmination of a multi-year ethnographic investigation of the experiences of street youth and street youth outreach workers in New York City. Through her research, Gibson illustrates how public space regulations and policy influence experiences of street youth and the effectiveness of work performed by outreach workers.
Bloomfield, Martha Aladjem. My Eyes Feel They Need to Cry: Stories from the Formerly Homeless. East Lansing: Michigan State University Press, 2013. eBook.
My Eyes Feel They Need to Cry: Stories from the Formerly Homeless is a collection of stories, paintings and poetry from former homeless adults. These adults, both men and women, come from diverse cultural and ethnic backgrounds. Their stories, paintings and poetry, share their experiences living on the street as well as what motivated them to change their lives in a positive direction.
Merino, Noël. Poverty and Homelessness. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2014. eBook.
Poverty and Homelessness is a book from Greenhaven Press’s current controversies series. It explores the various facets of the issue of homelessness from opposing perspectives. Some examples of topics discussed from opposing perspectives include whether homelessness is a growing issue in the United States, whether government welfare programs are helping or hurting the homeless and what is the cause of homelessness and poverty.
Schweid, Richard. Invisible Nation : Homeless Families in America. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2016. eBook.
Invisible Nation : Homeless Families in America examines the lives of homeless families from five major cities in the United States through in-depth reporting. Schweid also examines the historical context of family homelessness and what needs to be done to alleviate family homelessness in the future.
yHomeless? : an American Question. Burbank, CA: Cinema Libre Studio, 2016. Film.
yHomeless? : an American Question follows filmmaker Glen Dunzweiler on his journey across the country to answer the question “What is it like to be homeless in the United States?” The film features interviews with homeless individuals, homeless service providers and chronicles Dunzweiler’s own experience living on limited means like his film’s subjects as he makes his journey.
Bell, W. Kamau. United Shades of America. Native Hawaii. United States: CNN, 2018. Film.
United Shades of America. Native Hawaii features host W. Kamau Bell examining the history and current state of Native Hawaiians through interviews with members from the community. Other issues discussed in the video include homelessness, Trump’s travel ban, the Honouliuli internment camp and Native Hawaiian farming and fishing practices.
Blair, Allyson et al. Prescribing Hope. Trapped on the Streets. Honolulu, Hawaii: [Wong Audiovisual Center, University of Hawaii at Manoa], 2020. Film.
Prescribing Hope. Trapped on the Streets follows the story of Jeanette Serikauku and the Psychiatric Street Medicine Team as they seek to provide care for her sister, Cheryl Sasaki, who is homeless with a mental illness. Through Jeanette’s story, the legal issues connected to providing care for homeless people with mental illnesses in Hawaii is examined.
Huff, Daryl et al. Insights on PBS Hawaii. Mayors. Honolulu, Hawaii: [Wong Audiovisual Center, University of Hawaii at Manoa], 2020. Film.
Insights on PBS Hawaii. Mayors features a panel of guests who are mayors from four Hawaii counties. They discuss the issue of homelessness, housing and tourism found in their areas. Guests include Derek Kawakami (mayor of Kauai county), Kirk Caldwell (mayor of City and County of Honolulu), Harry Kim (mayor of Hawaii county), and Mike Victorino (mayor of Maui county).
Street Youth Study (2018) conducted by the University of Hawaii Center on the Family, Waikiki Health and Hale Kipa
A recent study examining the experiences of homeless, runaway and other street youth on Oahu.
The 2020 Annual Homeless Assessment Report (AHAR) to Congress by The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Office of Community Planning and Development
A recent report on the state of homelessness in the United States, which includes national and state estimates. Report includes sections focusing on homeless individuals, homeless families with children, unaccompanied homeless youth and other similar groups of people.
State of Hawaii Homelessness Initiative
The State of Hawaii’s Homelessness Initiative website, includes information pertaining to Governor David Ige’s broad policy direction and coordination of stakeholders addressing the issue of homelessness in Hawaii. It also features monthly webinars discussing topics related to homelessness, the latest reports on homelessness in Hawaii, and resources for homeless services.
Office of Housing and Homelessness at the City and County of Honolulu
The Office of Housing and Homelessness at the City and County of Honolulu includes information and resources for homelessness on Oahu, affordable housing and homeless veterans. Also includes information answering common questions about homelessness.
A PDF of the City and County of Honolulu’s Oahu Homeless Help Card, which contains the contact information and resources for homeless individuals on Oahu.
10 Ways for the Community to Help People Experiencing Homelessness
A PDF of the City and County of Honolulu’s pamphlet on how the community can help people experiencing homelessness in Hawaii.
Leeward Community College Assistance Resources
Information about campus resources for Leeward Community College students.
Information about the on campus food pantry for Leeward Community College students.
