Library materials at the Leeward CC Library are organized into the following collections:
Some items may be found in special locations, which will be indicated in the online catalog:
Most None of our collections are on our upper level (third floor of the building) due to a major renovation project. Some materials are available downstairs the main level of the Learning Commons .
- Best Sellers Collection
- This collection features a rotating selection of bestselling fiction and non-fiction books from popular authors. New titles are added each month. Books from this collection can be borrowed by Leeward CC patrons for four weeks. We welcome book suggestions! To suggest titles to add to our collection, fill out our Best Sellers & OverDrive Suggestion Form. Located on the curved book shelf on the lower level.
- Closed Shelves
- Some items are kept in a restricted room for their protection. These materials must be used in the library. Please ask for these items at the Circulation Desk on the lower level near the main entrance.
- ESL Collection
- Graded readers — short books written at or adapted to a particular reading level — for students learning English as a second language. Can be borrowed by students in Leeward CC ESL or ELI programs. We also have interactive e-books from Capstone Interactive Library with features that support the development of reading skills. Located on the curved book shelf on the lower level.
- General Collection
- The main collection of circulating (i.e. borrowable) books, chosen to support Leeward Community College's academic programs. The library also has access to tens of thousands of electronic books. More about books and e-books. Note: Most of this collection has been put in storage due to a major renovation project. Selected materials are available on the main level of the Learning Commons.
- Hawaiʻi-Pacific Collection
- The Hawaiʻi-Pacific collection contains books and magazines about Hawaiʻi and countries in the Pacific region. Most items in this collection can be borrowed for 14 days. Some items do not circulate. Electronic access to more than 300 University of Hawaiʻi Press titles, formerly available through NetLibrary, are now available through EBSCOhost eBook Collection. Note: Most of this collection has been put in storage due to a major renovation project. Selected materials are available on the main level of the Learning Commons.
- Juvenile Collection
- The Juvenile collection has children's books used by students training to be teachers. Located next to the current periodical issues on the upper level. Note: This collection has been put in storage due to a major renovation project.
- New Books
- Books that have been recently acquired by the library may be placed on a New Books display. New books are available to be borrowed. Located on the lower level..
- Oversized Books
- Books that are too large to fit on the regular shelves are kept on a special range of shelves along the wall in the southeast corner of the upper level. Note: This collection has been put in storage due to a major renovation project.
- Periodical Collection
- The Library subscribes to a variety of periodical publications (magazines, journals, and newspapers) in print and electronic forms. The information in recently-published periodicals is generally more current than the information found in books. We also have electronic access to popular magazines through the Flipster and Overdrive services. See our List of Periodicals we subscribe to, or search for the title of a publication in our online catalog. In addition to these individual publications, our online research databases provide articles from tens of thousands of publications. More about our periodical resources. Note: Most of this collection has been put in storage due to a major renovation project. Selected materials are available on the main level of the Learning Commons.
- Reference Collection
- The Reference collection contains books that are generally consulted rather than read through. This section contains sources such as current almanacs, general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases. You'll also find digests of current and historical events, directories and listings, books on state and federal laws, and literary and biographical sources. Books in the reference collection are not loaned out, so that they can be available to as many people as possible. We also have online access to reference sources through Credo Reference and Gale eBooks. Note: This collection has been put in storage due to a major renovation project.
- Reserve Collection
- Reserve materials are kept behind the Circulation Desk on the lower level near the main entrance. These are books and other materials that instructors have set aside for their students to read and use. Some items come from the library's collection, and many items have been loaned to the library by instructors. Some items may be borrowed for three days, while the rest must be used in the library. To find materials in the Reserve collection, you can do a Course Reserves search in the online catalog, which shows instructor-owned items that do not show up in our regular catalog. For more information, see the Course Reserves guide.
- Video Collection
- The library has hundreds of educationally-oriented videotapes and DVDs, most of which are available for seven-day loans. Located at the Circulation Desk. We also subscribe to several streaming video services. More about our video resources.
