Library: SOC 151: Introduction to the Sociology of Food: Databases and Online Resources

General Databases

Need background information on a topic or issue? Credo Reference provides over three million full-text articles from over one thousand titles.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 800+ published reference works in a variety of major subjects. These include general and subject dictionaries as well as encyclopedias. Credo also has more than 200,000 images and videos.

For information that needs more popular full-text magazines, reference books, MasterFILE Complete is the place to start.

MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Other Helpful Databases

Looking for information on a local issue? ProQuest U.S. West Newsstream provides current news on issues in Hawaii from the Star-Advertiser.

ProQuest US West Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 270 news sources from AK, CA, HI, ID, NV, OR, UT, and WA. Includes the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (Jun 2010-present), Honolulu Advertiser (Jan 1999-Jun 2010), Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Mar 1996-Jun 2010), and Hawaii Business (Jan 2016-present).
Note: This database replaces ProQuest News & Newspapers.

Statistics and data can help strengthen your justifications and discussions in your paper or presentation. Are you looking for a chart or infographic? Statista can provide images to add to PPT, XLS, PDF, and more.

Statista - The Portal for Statistics
A portal to over 1 million statistics, 3,000 industry reports, and over 400 market forecast reports.

eBooks

Ebook Central
Collection of electronic books covering a wide range of subject areas, including credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources.

eBooks are a great way to get background information on a particular subject.

Food Security and Climate Change
This book looks at the current state of food security and climate change, discusses the issues that are affecting them, and the actions required to ensure there will be enough food for the future.
Gender and Food: A Critical Look at the Food System
Gender and Food: A Critical Look at the Food System synthesizes existing theoretical and empirical research on food, gender, and intersectionality to offer students and scholars a framework from which to understand how gender is central to the production, distribution, and consumption of food.
The Value of Hawaii
The Value of Hawai'i addresses a wide range of topics—education, the environment, Hawaiian issues, media, tourism, political culture, law, labor, economic planning, government, transportation, and poverty.

SOC 151: Introduction to the Sociology of Food: Databases and Online Resources

Finding Databases and Online Resources

General Databases

Other Helpful Databases

eBooks