Culinary Arts (Credo): Cooking Techniques and Styles

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
Today's Cajuns are the descendants of 1,600 French Acadians whom the British forced from their Nova Scotian homeland in 1785. The local Indians transmuted the word Acadians to Cagians and, eventually, to Cajuns.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
The combined cuisines of China have often been compared to French cuisine as having made the greatest contribution to the world of food.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
Today, Creole cookery reflects the full-flavored combination of the best of French, Spanish and African cuisines.

Food which can be cooked very quickly while the customers wait, e.g. fish and chips, hamburgers, doner and shish kebabs and Chinese stir-fry dishes.

From France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Cooking has evolved considerably over the centuries, from the use of just local ingredients to today’s globalized food distribution. In France, food and wine are still major topics of conversation, and gastronomy is seriously respected and considered an art.

From International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
The Oxford English Dictionary defines haute cuisine as cookery of a high standard, especially of the French traditional school. In this context, the term is often used to describe the classical French cuisine.

From The Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
A general term for the food of the Italian immigrants and their descendants, as well as those Italian foods enjoyed by other Americans.

From Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
Mexico is well known throughout the world for its unique cuisine. Salsa now outsells catsup in the United States and $5 billion worth of tortillas are sold internationally each year.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
A term used by billionaire inventor Dr. Nathan Myhrvold, to describe a scientific approach to cooking techniques.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Also “modernist cuisine” and “avant-garde cuisine.” A culinary style of the beginning of the twenty-first century by which chefs inspired by the work of Spanish chef Ferran Adrià's highly experimental cuisine at his restaurant El Bulli, in Roses, Spain.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
A phrase that developed in the early 1980s to describe foods made by American cooks with American ingredients but according to the principles of preparation, cooking, and presentation promulgated by the practitioners of France's nouvelle cuisine.

From International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
Nouvelle cuisine (‘new cookery’ in French) is a culinary movement that owed its momentum to two food critics, Gault and Millau, in the early 1970s.

From The Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
In American restaurants, this term refers not to any specific foods or dishes of Polynesia but to a number of dishes and cocktails concocted to sound and taste as if they were of Polynesian origins

From The American Heritage(R) Dictionary of the English Language
To cook (food) with dry heat, especially in an oven

Traditionally an open-air gathering, political or social, in which meats are roasted whole over a pit of embers and food and drink are liberally enjoyed. The term barbecue also refers to the meat being roasted.

From Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A to Z
To cook in water or a water-based liquid at its boiling point and with sufficient heat input to generate bubbles of steam which agitate and stir the mixture

Heat treatment of food to make it more palatable, digestible, and safe. It breaks down connective tissue in meat, making it tender, and softens the cellulose in plant tissue.

From Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
Cooking foods with oil at temperatures well above the boiling point of water.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
To prepare food on a grill over hot coals or other heat source.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
To soak a food such as meat, fish or vegetables in a seasoned liquid mixture called a marinade.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
To cook food gently in liquid just below the boiling point when the liquid's surface is beginning to show some quivering movement

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
To boil a liquid (usually stock, wine or a sauce mixture) rapidly until the volume is reduced by evaporation.

From Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A to Z
To cook food in the oven by a combination of convected and radiated heat with good air circulation around it and usually with fat. The object is to brown the surface of the food, to make it crisp and tasty and to just cook the interior to the right degree.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
Add flair to your cooking by using herbs and spices and varying the seasonings to give your food attitude and style.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
To quickly fry small pieces of food in a large pan over very high heat while constantly and briskly stirring the food.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
The following emergency substitutions can be made with satisfactory results in most recipes.

From Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
A ketogenic diet originally proposed in 1972, in which carbohydrate intake is strictly limited but fat and protein are permitted in unlimited amounts.

From Cambridge World History of Food
That a food or group of foods is especially health promoting serves as the most characteristic claim of food faddists

Diagram used in nutrition education that fits food groups into a triangle and notes that, for a healthful diet, those at the base should be eaten more frequently than those at the top.

From Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
A diet poor in carbohydrate (20–30g) and rich in fat.

Vegetarianism, in its broadest definition, is a dietary pattern where meat, fish, and poultry are excluded.

From Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable
An organization, in full Weight Watchers International Inc., founded in the United States in 1961 to promote dieting as a means of slimming.

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Braising

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Cooking in foil

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Deep-frying

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Deglazing

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Grilling

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Marinating Meat

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Poaching

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Pressure cooking

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Searing

From Food and Cooking
Cooking technique: Steaming