Library: Zoology: Wikipedia Hawaiʻi Native Species Assignment: Taxonomy and Species

General Marine Biology Taxonomy Resources

The Naming of Life: Marine Taxonomy
The science of taxonomy classifies species into evolutionary relationships to help identify organisms and name species. Taxonomy is also referred to as scientific classification.
Marine Invertebrates Overview
Animals that lack backbones are known as invertebrates. Over 98% of species on Earth are invertebrates that rely on other strategies than a backbone for support such as hydrostatic pressure, exoskeletons, shells, and in some, even glass spicules.
Marine Vertebrates Overview
Marine vertebrates, classified (following WoRMS) under the Kingdom Animalia, Phylum Chordata and Subphylum Vertebrata, are among the most structurally complex organisms.
Coral Reefs Overview
Coral reefs are a precious resource in the ocean because of their beauty and biodiversity. Coral reefs also provide shelter for a wide variety of marine life, humans with recreation, a valuable resource of organisms for potential medicines, create sands for beaches, and serve as buffers for shorelines.
A Guidebook of Introduced Marine Species in Hawaii
Edited by L.G. Eldredge and C.M. Smith; Bishop Museum Technical Report 21; Published August 2001
World Register of Marine Species
An authoritative classification and catalogue of marine names
FishBase
FishBase is a global biodiversity information system on finfishes. Its initial goal to provide key facts on population dynamics for 200 major commercial species has now grown to having a wide range of information on all species currently known in the world: taxonomy, biology, trophic ecology, life history, and uses, as well as historical data reaching back to 250 years.
Waikīkī Aquarium: Animal Guide
Guide of Marine Mammals, Reptiles, Fishes, and Invertebrates found at the Waikīkī Aquarium.
Ocean Biodiversity Information
OBIS is a global open-access data and information clearing-house on marine biodiversity for science, conservation and sustainable development

Databases and Journals

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . This resource combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality. Find articles from 1,200+ journals using ScienceDirect.
Science This link opens in a new window
Science has grown to become the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. Full-text access from 1997+.
Science Reference Center (EBSCOhost Interface) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content correlated to state and national curriculum standards. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers all subject areas.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 800+ published reference works in a variety of major subjects. These include general and subject dictionaries as well as encyclopedias. Credo also has more than 200,000 images and videos.

Research Guides at other UH Libraries

Biology (UHM)
A general research guide on the topic of Biology. Includes links and resources about species and Taxonomy Information.

Websites

The Dangers of Plastic Pollution to Marine Life
An article and additional resources regarding ocean pollution published by the company "The Bottle Store". This resource was a suggested contribution to this libguide by Grayson Martin.

General Taxonomy and Species Resources

General Biodiversity Bibliography for Polynesia, Micronesia, and Melanesia
Pacific Biodiversity Information Form: A bibliography of resources (some with and some without links) specific to the biodiversity of the Polynesian, Micronesian, and Melanisian areas of the Pacific.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
NCBI Taxonomy Database
The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
Tree of Life Web Project
provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
An international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Encyclopedia of Life
A collaborative effort of natural history museums, botanical gardens, and research institutions to create a biodiversity database on the Web. Scientific names, geographic distribution, and images are provided for many species.
Alien Species in Hawaiʻi
This site is the entry point for information on alien species distributions in Hawaii compiled by the Hawaiian Ecosystems at Risk (HEAR) Project. Information is updated frequently, so check back often. Distribution maps are available for selected plants, vertebrates, and invertebrates.
List of Latin and Greek words commonly used in systematic names
This list of Latin and Greek words commonly used in systematic names is intended to help those unfamiliar with classical languages to understand and remember the scientific names of organisms. The binomial nomenclature used for animals and plants is largely derived from Latin and Greek words, as are some of the names used for higher taxa, such as orders and above.

Books and Media from the Library Catalog

Native Use of Fish in Hawaii by Margaret Titcomb; Mary Kawena Pukui (Contribution by)
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 T58 1972
This book provides a lot of information on the importance of fishing in ancient Hawaiian society. It includes drawings of fish with both Hawaiian and scientific names.
Olelo No'eau by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 O56 1983
ISBN: 9780910240925
"This extraordinary collection of Hawaiian sayings--collected, translated, and annotated by Mary Kawena Pukui--offers a unique opportunity to savor the wisdom, poetic beauty, and earthy humor of these finely crafted expressions.
Hawaiian Reef Animals by Edmund S. Hobson; Edith H. Chave
Call Number: QL636.5.H3 H62 1990
New edition of a popular natural history. Contains fine color plates that embellish the clear, practical text. The lack of an index is a serious impediment to the book's utility. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.
Conservation biology in Hawaiʻi by Stone, Charles P.; Stone, Danielle B., 1941-
Call Number: QH76.5.H3 C66 1989
Loli, puhi, and limu by Akana, Kalani, producer, host.; Ekau, Alfred.; Uehara, Kevin.; Kauahipaula, Elizabeth.; Wong, Ipo.; ʻAhahui Kapiʻolani.; No Ka Mea Nou Ke Aupuni (Organization); NATV (Television station : Honolulu, Hawaii)
Call Number: Streaming Online

Scholarly Articles:

Titcomb M, Fellows DB, Pukui MK, Devaney DM. 1978. Native use of marine invertebrates in old Hawaii. Pac Sci 32(4): 325-386.

Morishige, K., Andrade, P., Pascua, P., Steward, K., Cadiz, E., Kapono, L., & Chong, U. (2018). Nā Kilo ʻĀina: Visions of Biocultural Restoration through Indigenous Relationships between People and Place. Sustainability (Basel, Switzerland), 10(10), 3368–. https://doi.org/10.3390/su10103368