Library: Linking to Articles, E-Books, and Videos: For Students: Links on Works Cited Lists

Clickable Links to Library Sources on Works Cited Lists

If your professor wants you to include working links to the sources on your Works Cited list, you'll need to make sure that the links to materials from library research databases are formatted in a particular way.

First, find the stable URL for the item you are citing.

The stable URL (also known as a document URL, permanent link, share link, or something similar) reliably links to the article, e-book, or video. The URL in your browser's address bar when you're viewing something sometimes only works during that search session and won't work for someone else later on.

For EBSCOhost databases, click on the Permalink icon on the left of the screen.
For Credo Reference, click on the Page Link icon at the top of the screen.
For ProQuest databases, click on the Abstract/Details tab, and look for the Document URL.
For other databases, see the box below for instructions.

Next, look for "lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu" in the first part of the URL.

Some databases, like EBSCOhost and some ProQuest databases, produce a stable URL that is already formatted correctly. Look at the beginning of the URL for:

https://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu/...

or some variation like

https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu/...

If you see this in the URL, you can use it as is for your Works Cited list.

If necessary, add the proxy prefix to the stable URL.

If the stable URL does not have "lccproxy" in the first part (and the database is not on the Exceptions list below), add https://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu/login?url= to the front of the URL.

Example:

An article from the ScienceDirect database has this stable URL:

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jhazmat.2022.129546

It doesn't have the lccproxy address, so we add the prefix to the front of it.

https://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jhazmat.2022.129546

You can use this URL for your Works Cited list.

See the How to Link tab above for more extensive instructions.

Exceptions

Some databases work differently than most. For the following databases, do not add the proxy prefix. Use the stable URL as given.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Kanopy
The New York Times
Opposing Viewpoints
OverDrive
Swank

Finding/Modifying Stable URLs in Other Databases

You will need to be viewing an individual article or article record to follow these instructions.

Some databases may show a different stable URL when the record is viewed while off campus than while on campus – specifically, the website address will take the form x-y-z.lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu instead of x.y.z. These off-campus URLs will work. You do not have to add the proxy prefix if the retrieved stable URL contains the "lccproxy" string.

ABI/INFORM Complete: Click on the Abstract/Details tab, then look for the Document URL.
Academic Video Online: Click on the Share button on bottom of the viewer. Then click on Copy Permalink or Copy Embed Code.
Capstone Interactive Library: You can use the URL in the address bar (you have to be on-campus when you copy the address). Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Chronicle of Higher Education: You can use the URL in the address bar (you have to be on-campus when you copy the address). Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Credo Reference: Click on the Page Link button (with the chain icon) at the top of the screen.
Dictionary of Literary Biography: Click on Get Link at the top right of the page. The proxy prefix is not necessary.
Ebook Central: Click on the Share Link to Book link on the left side of the screen. Precede it with the proxy prefix.
eHRAF: The old interface (still available as an option as of August 2022) has a Permalink button at the bottom of the screen. The current interface does not have a Permalink button, but you can see a link if you click on Cite. Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic: You can use the URL in the address bar (you have to be on-campus when you copy the address). Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Ethnographic Video Online: Same procedure as Academic Video Online
Films on Demand: Click on Share below the video viewer, then select the Embed/Link tab.
Flipster: You can only link to the most recent issue of each magazine. If you click on a cover image and bring up the description of the magazine, click on the Share button on the top right.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Click on the Get Link icon at the top right of the screen.
Issues and Controversies: Look for the Record URL at the bottom of the page. Precede it with the proxy prefix.
JSTOR: Both a Stable URL and a Remote Access URL are shown on the left of the screen Use the Remote Access URL.
Kanopy: Click on Share/Embed below the video viewer. Do not add the proxy prefix. Kanopy works a little differently.
New York Times: You can click on the Share icon (curved arrow) for the link, but each reader needs to have an individual New York Times subscription to view the article. Current Leeward CC students, staff, and faculty can sign up for a free subscription though this NYT sign-up page. Do not add the proxy prefix to article links.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Click on Get Link at the top right of the page. Do not add the proxy prefix. OVIC works a little differently.
OverDrive: You can use the "leeward.overdrive.com" URL that appears in the address bar when you are looking at the record for a book. Do not add the proxy prefix. OverDrive works differently.
ProQuest US West Newsstream: Click on the Abstract/Details tab, then look for the Document URL.
Science: Cllick on the Share icon in the column of icons near the top of the article to get the Share Article Link. Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Swank: Click on the Share menu. Choose Copy Direct Link for the URL, or Copy LMS Link for HTML link code to the video. Do not add the proxy prefix. Swank works differently.