Open Educational Resources Guide

Calculus textbook available in three separate volumes. Click on download to access text in PDF format, in color.

Various calculus text resources.

The link provides users direct online access to full text in PDF format. The book may be downloaded, read online or printed.

Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course.

This book is intended for introductory statistics courses being taken by students at two– and four–yearcolleges who are majoring in fields other than math or engineering. Intermediate algebra is the only prerequisite.The book focuses on applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it.

This book is meant to be a textbook for a standard one-semester introductory statistics course for general education students.

This textbook is a concise, understandable, and effective guide on intermediate level mathematics. Each topic, concept, term, and phrase has a clear definition followed by examples. It acts as a concise study guide, quickly getting to the heart of each particular topic, helping students with a quick review before doing mathematics homework or preparing for tests.

This book is a survey of contemporary mathematical topics, most non-algebraic, appropriate for a college-level quantitative literacy topics course for liberal arts majors. The text is designed so that most chapters are independent, allowing the instructor to choose a selection of topics to be covered. Emphasis is placed on the applicability of the mathematics.

Created by Leeward CC instructors Daniela Dutra Eilliot and Paula Mejia Velasquez, this CC BY-NC-SA licensed LibreTexts publication discusses introductory topics of Botany through examples of the native and introduced plants found in Hawaiʻi. It includes the anatomy and physiology of seeds, roots, leaves, stems, fruits, and flowers and covers the main plant groups from nonvascular to flowering plants. This book provides a visual reference to botanical concepts and terminology for beginners.

This book is devoted to botany and covers topical issues in this diverse area of study.

Botany online is an html textbook that has been translated from German into English covering plant anatomy, classic genetics, organic chemistry and plant biochemistry, intercellular communication, interactions between plants, fungi, bacteria, and viruses, evolution, and ecology.

Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health.

This is a Pressbooks adapted version of the OpenStax Anatomy and Physiology text with revised content and artwork by Oregon State University.

This introductory class integrates the anatomy and physiology of organs, the systems of the human body, and development and inheritance. It includes the study of the gross and microscopic structure of the systems of the human body with special emphasis on the relationship between structure and function. This is the second of a two-part course.

An on-line lab manual for anatomy and physiology. Mostly annotated images. Some histological slides are presented at different levels of magnification.

The manual contains labs on cells, histology, the integumentary system, the skeletal system, the nervous system, muscles and the senses. From the University System of Georgia.

Digital Histology is organized as chapters that parallel those of most histology textbooks. Each of the over 1600 pages contains an original, high quality image accompanied by descriptive text and selectable labels. In addition, interactive quizzes with formative feedback accompany each chapter of Digital Histology. A review textbook with hyperlinks to images in the main package is also included. From Virginia Commonwealth University.

This is a lab manual for a college-level human anatomy course. The activities in this manual encourage students to engage with new vocabulary in many ways, including grouping key terms, matching terms to structures, recalling definitions, and written exercises.

This text is adapted from the OpenStax Textbook Anatomy and Physiology, which is a college level text intended for a traditional two semester anatomy and Physiology course. This adaptation is highly edited to focus on basic human body systems required for an introductory anatomy and medical terminology course (HLTH 140 at Kaua`i CC).

This resource is targeted for health services students in the first year of their college programs.

This is a printable companion to Medical Terminology (authors Stacey Grimm, et al.). It adds no new content, but formats the content in a way that is easily printed for student study and review. The interactive activities are translated into a static, printable version, and the contextual content is removed from the essential word parts and medical terminology to be learned.

This Pressbooks resource is designed to help the reader navigate the complex and perplexing issue of climate change by providing tools and strategies to explore the underlying science. As such it contains a collection of activities that make use of readily available on-line resources developed by research groups and public agencies.

This is a Pressbooks adaptation covering the most salient environmental issues, from a biological perspective. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course. Topics include the fundamentals of ecology, biodiversity, pollution, climate change, food production, and human population growth.

From the textbook's introduction:
"The title of the book refers to a Hawaiian ‘olelo no‘eau, or wise saying, ʻHe ali‘i ka ‘āina, he kauwa ke kanaka.ʻ Land is the chief, man is the servant. We are entirely dependent on land to grow food, to provide clean water, and provide us with materials to build our homes, cloth our bodies, and heal our illnesses. This textbook aims to help teachers incorporate sustainability across a wide variety of academic disciplines."

"This book is suited for the Entrepreneurship or Innovation course with an emphasis on Sustainability or for a course devoted entirely to Sustainability. What are the trends and forces underlying the changing character of the business-environment relationship? How they are creating significant entrepreneurial opportunities for individuals and companies? Around the world, the movement toward ”sustainable development“ has caused many firms to adopt policies and practices that reflect what is sometimes called a ”sustainable business“ or ”triple bottom line“ approach. ”Triple bottom line“ refers to the demonstration of strong performance across economic, social, and environmental indicators."

"This text is designed to introduce the reader to the essential concepts of sustainability... The content is intended to be useful for both a broad-based introductory class on sustainability and as a useful supplement to specialist courses which wish to review the sustainability dimensions of their areas of study."

In this interactive resource, learners read a scenario and identify the cranial nerve that is being assessed.

This textbook is designed for the novice learner who is seeking to develop a foundational understanding of the complete subjective health assessment in the context of health and illness.

This book introduces concepts related to nursing leadership and management, prioritization strategies, delegation and supervision, legal implications of nursing practice, ethical nursing practice, collaboration within the interprofessional team, health care economics, quality and evidence-based practice, advocacy, preparation for the RN role, and the avoidance of burnout with self-care.

This Pressbooks text discusses mental health and community health concepts while emphasizing stress management techniques, healthy coping strategies, referrals to community resources, and other preventative interventions. Nursing care for individuals with specific mental health and substance use disorders is examined, and the nurse’s role in community health needs assessments and caring for vulnerable populations is introduced.

This book introduces the entry-level nursing student to the scope of nursing practice, various communication techniques, and caring for diverse patients.

The Pressbooks text is designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes.

This open access textbook is intended to guide best practices in vaccine delivery in Canada. This resource is designed for students in post-secondary health profession programs, including nursing.

This open access Nursing Skills textbook includes physical assessments routinely performed by entry-level registered nurses and basic nursing skills performed by licensed practical nurses.