Open Educational Resources Guide

This book is a free and open resource to composition instructors and students, full of essays that could supplement OER rhetoric and writing texts that lacked readings.

This writer's reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student should need to successfully compose college-level work. The book covers the basics of composition and revising, including how to build a strong thesis, how to peer review a fellow student's work, and a handy checklist for revision, before moving on to a broad overview of academic writing.

This course pack is designed to meet the learning outcomes for Adult Literacy Fundamental English Level 6 (roughly equivalent to grades 7.5 to 9 in the K-12 system). Every chapter includes a level-appropriate, high-interest reading of between 500 and 1,000 words.

Business English for Success provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. This step-by-step approach provides a clear path to student-centered learning.

This book has been written for adult students of English Language Arts at a Grade 10 level. The goal of the book is to help students develop skills in reading, writing, language use, and study skills. The book is divided into ten units, each of which focuses on a specific theme; these include food, work, art, money, nature, and more.

This book is divided into two parts. Part I is a Composition Handbook designed to teach students the components of the writing process and the conventions of various forms of school and college writing assignments. Part II is an Anthology of Literature designed to help students read actively, analyze, understand, enjoy, and appreciate stories, poems, and plays by a diverse and inclusive group of exceptional writers.

This OER textbook has been designed for students to learn the foundational concepts for English 100. The content aligns to learning outcomes across all campuses in the University of Hawai'i system.

English Composition I is a study of the rhetorical modes of writing and essay production.

English Composition II is a writing course that emphasizes the process of research writing.

EmpoWord is a reader and rhetoric that champions the possibilities of student writing. The textbook uses actual student writing to exemplify effective writing strategies, celebrating dedicated college writing students to encourage and instruct their successors: the students in your class. Published by Portland State University Libraries.

This first year composition text contains three major sections—Section One primarily focuses on the nuts and bolts of writing to get students engaged in the process of writing and also considering what their point or claim is. This section shares ideas about expressing ideas and is primarily derived from the Wiki Book on Rhetoric and Composition. Section Two continues to discuss academic writing including research and other inquiry methods as well as analysis and blends more of the previously cited Wiki Book and Shane Abram’s EmpoWord: A Student Centered Anthology and Handbook for College Writers.

This is an English language skills textbook to help ELL students acquire communication skills in the community (listening, speaking, reading, and writing). The book is aimed at Canadian Language Benchmark levels 5/6, focusing on intercultural skills and essential skills: reading text, document use, writing, oral communication, thinking skills, working with others, and computer use.

This is an English language skills textbook to help ELL students acquire communication skills in the workplace (listening, speaking, reading, and writing). The book is aimed at Canadian Language Benchmark levels 5/6, focusing on intercultural skills and essential skills: reading text, document use, writing, oral communication, thinking skills, working with others, and computer use.

The Information Literacy User’s Guide is based on two models in information literacy: The 2011 version of The Seven Pillars Model and the conception of information literacy as a metaliteracy.

A collection of freely available materials for use in first-year composition courses. Content is arranged by themes or categories.

A free, online comprehensive college-level writing lab.

A free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research skills.

Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. This adapted edition is produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative.

Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.

Writing Spaces is an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses. Each volume in the Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing series contains peer-reviewed collections of essays about writing—all composed by teachers for students—with each book available for download for free under a Creative Commons license.​

Communication in the Real World overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. A key feature of this book is the integration of content regarding diversity and organizational communication in each chapter through examples and/or discrete sub-sections.

From the Introduction: "Our goal in this text is to break down the communication process in professional environments so you can maximize your chance to get hired and retain your job once you graduate from university. We will do this by looking at communication through political, rhetorical, ethical, and interpersonal lenses and applying this knowledge to your future career."

No matter what your field is, having professional communication skills are essential to success in today's workplace. This Pressbooks text covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.

This Pressbooks publication is a modular open textbook designed for entrepreneurial journalism, media innovation, and related courses. In the course of envisioning, prototyping and launching, you will integrate multimedia production, social media distribution, design thinking, data collection and analysis, and audience engagement strategies.

This Pressbooks resource is an approachable introductory Mass Communication text that covers major mass communication terms and concepts including "digital culture." It discusses various media platforms and how they are evolving as Information and Communication Technologies change.

The Pressbooks text provides an upper-level undergraduate introduction and explanation of the social and cognitive processes involved in human communication, focusing on how people create understanding.

"The author believes that an introduction to mass communication text should be a compelling, historical narrative sketching the ongoing evolution of media technology and how that technology shapes and is shaped by culture..."