Library: HWST 270: Hawaiian Mythology (Losch) : Akua Biography: Kaʻahupāhau &amp; Kahiʻukā

General Resources

Akua Hawaii by Kimo Armitage; Solomon Enos (Illustrator)
Call Number: BL2620.H3 A76 2005
A compilation of short write ups and visual interpretations of some of the many akua in the Hawaiian mythological pantheon. Includes a page for Kaʻahupāhau and her brother Kahiʻukā.
Nanaue the shark man : & other Hawaiian shark stories by Nakuina, Emma M. (Emma Metcalf); Kawaharada, Dennis.
Contains stories of Kaʻahupāhau. Available from campus libraries via ISL.
Hawaiian Mythology by Martha Warren Beckwith
Call Number: BL2620.H3 B4 1970
Religion and mythology were interwoven in Hawaiian culture; local legends and genealogies were preserved in song, chant, and narrative. In this book are recorded the oral narratives of the Hawaiian people.
Sites of Oahu by compiled by Elspeth P. Sterling, Catherine C. Summers
Call Number: DU624 .S74 1978
Publication Date: 1978
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 O56 1983
ISBN: 9780910240925
There are a number of ʻōlelo Noʻeau referring to Kaʻahupāhau

Hawaiian Legends Index: Kaʻahupāhau
List of all resources within the index that contains mention of "Kaahupahau".
Hawaiian Legends Index: Kahiʻukā
List of all resources within the index containing mention of Kahiʻukā.

Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
When searching this database, use keywords such as "Kaahupahau" and "Kahiuka" to find resources about these two akua

Papakilo Database
When searching this database, use keywords such as "Kaahupahau" and "Kahiuka" to find resources about these two akua

Reports & Articles

He Moʻolelo ʻĀina -- Traditions and Storied Places of Honouliuli
Contains many anecdotes about Kaʻahupāhau, Kahiʻukā and her retainers.
Hālau o Puʻuloa: Full ʻEwa ʻĀina Inventory
An ethnohistorical report with moʻolelo about Kaʻahupāhau and Kahiʻukā.

Articles:

Noelani Puniwai. (2020). Pua ka Wiliwili, Nanahu ka Manō: Understanding Sharks in Hawaiian Culture. Human Biology, 92(1), 11–17. https://doi.org/10.13110/humanbiology.92.1.03

Imagery

He Moʻolelo Kaʻao no Kaʻehuikimanōopuʻuloa

The epic tale of Kaʻehuikimanōopuʻuloa has one of the most thorough accounts of how Kaʻahupāhau, Kahiʻukā, and their retainers lived within Puʻuloa. There a few versions of this tale and a few ways for you to read it, via e-book, audiobook, or by reading it in the nūpepa (Hawaiian language newspapers.

He Moʻolelo Kaʻao no Kaʻehuikimanōopuʻuloa
[ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi] The Epic Tale of Kaʻehuikimanōopuʻuloa

No Mikololou a me Kaʻahupāhau

Mikololou and Kaahupahau reach far away New York, 1905.
Made available by the independent blog called "nupepa". This article was originally printed in "Rochester Democrat and Chronicle", 9/10/1905, p. 14 (based in New York).

Ancient Oahu by Dennis Kawaharada (Editor)
Call Number: GR110.H3 A53 2001
A myth anthology that includes the story of Kaʻahupāhau and Mikololou.
Folktales of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui (Compiled by); Dietrich Varez (Illustrator)
Call Number: GR110.H38 P85 1995
Includes "The Story of Mikololou"