Library: HIST 284: History of Hawaii (Ickes): Online Resources

Our Sea of Islands

We Are the Ocean by Epeli Hau'ofa
"Our Sea of Islands" begins on page 27
Your UH login and password are required if you are off campus.

Information about the print copy
In Hawaii-Pacific Collection (3rd floor). Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 A6 2008

The Value of Hawaii

The Value of Hawai'i: Knowing the Past, Shaping the Future by Craig Howes and Jonathan Kay Kamakawiwo'ole Osorio, eds.
Your UH login and password are required if you are off campus.

Information about the print copy
In Hawaii-Pacific Collection (3rd floor). Call Number: DU627.8 .V35 2010

The Value of Hawaii 2 by Aiko Yamashiro (Editor); Noelani Goodyear-Ka'ōpua (Editor)
Your UH login and password are required if you are off campus.

Information about the print copy
Copies in Hawaii-Pacific Resource Rooms (2nd floor) and Hawaii-Pacific Collection (3rd floor). Call Number: DU627.8 .V36 2014
The Value of Hawaiʻi 3: Hulihia, the turning
Edited by Noelani Goodyear-Ka‘ōpua, Craig Howes, Jonathan Kay Kamakawiwo‘ole Osorio, and Aiko Yamashiro

Selected eResources

Search Hawaiian Dictionaries

Search all three sources at Ulukau Hawaiian Electronic Library

Hawai'i Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites by John R.K. Clark
Hawaiian Dictionary by Pukui and Elbert
Place Names of Hawai'i by Pukui, Elbert, and Mookini

University of Hawaii at Manoa LibGuides

Library Guides (Hawaii)
Link to library guides created by librarians at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Use these guides to find print and electronic resources on various topics related to Hawaii.
Library Guides (Pacific)
Link to library guides created by librarians at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Use these guides to find print and electronic resources on various topics related to the Pacific.

Research Tools & Databases

ProQuest US West Newsstream
Full-text articles from The Honolulu Advertiser (2002-2010), Honolulu Star-Bulletin (1996- 2010), and the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (2010-present). Off-campus access requires UH Web login.
Chronicling America: Historic Hawai'i Newspapers
UH Manoa guide to Hawai'i newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Primo
Primo is Leeward Library's search tool for accessing books, articles, media and more. You can also use this database to find materials in UH libraries across the system.
Hawaiian Legends Index
The brand new searchable index is a collaboration between the Hawaii State Library System and the UH Manoa Library. The call numbers shown are for the public libraries and UH Manoa - not Leeward CC Library. Do a title search in Hawaii Voyager to check availability at Leeward. The print index is also available in the Reference Collection (REF GR110.H38 H38 1989)
Hawaii Newspaper Index
Search the index to The Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin back to 1990. Not a full-text database. Write down the newspaper name, year, and page number to locate the microfilm reel in the library. For articles before 1990 go to the print Index to the Honolulu Star-Bulletin and Honolulu Advertiser, 1929-1990(REF AI21.H6 I5)
Index to the Honolulu Advertiser & Star-Bulletin, 1929-1969
Digitized version of the print index for the Advertiser & Star-Bulletin from 1929-69. Not a searchable index.

Websites

Atlas of Hawaiian Watersheds & Their Aquatic Resources
Print editions are located in the Hawaiʻi-Pacific Collection, 3rd floor, Library. Call no. H-P QH198 .H3 .A85 2008
Honolulu Civil Beat
Online news source with an emphasis on politics, social , education, energy, and the environmental issues. Some features restricted to subscribers only.
Huapala
Hawaiian music and hula archives. Look up lyrics, translations, background explanations.
Papakilo Database
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs has developed a "comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history." Search by Location allows searching by island, moku, and ahupua'a.
Thrum's Online
Annual Hawaii almanac published from 1875-1974. Use this guide from UH Manoa to navigate this digitized resource.
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library
Ka Ho'olina: Puke Pai 'Ōlelo Hawai'i, Hawaiian Newspaper, Baibala Hemolele, Hawaiian dictionary and more.
Ava Konohiki
View land documents from the Māhele period as well as historical maps for many locations throughout Hawaiʻi.

e-Journals

Ka Wai Ola - The Living Water of OHA
Monthly journal from the Office of Hawaiian Affairs. Both current and back issues (from 2011) are available to view online.
Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest. Search the Hawaii Pacific Journal Index for find articles.
Hana Hou
Current and back issues of Hawaiian Airlines in-flight magazine. Search the Hawaii Pacific Journal Index to find articles.
Hūlili: Multidisciplinary Research on Hawaiian Well-Being
Hūlili is a multidisciplinary forum for current research that examines the nature, needs, and strengths of Hawaiians, their families, and their communities. Through collaboration and critique, Hūlili fosters new connections and shared insights to mobilize greater Hawaiian well-being.

Mutlimedia Resources

ʻUluʻulu: The Henry Kuʻualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi
Hawaiʻi's official state archive for moving images. ʻUluʻulu is located on the University of Hawaiʻi - West Oʻahu campus, and the archive is dedicated to the care, preservation, and digitization of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Hawaiʻi. Search the catalog, explore the collections, and watch some movies!

Documenting Activism: The Early Days of the Native Hawaiian Movement
At the 2017 Hawaii International Film Festival ʻUluʻulu honored those who courageously documented the early days of the Native Hawaiian movement and acknowledged how these images are being used today. This film contains a segment from the documentary Mo‘olelo o ka ‘Āina (1984), produced by KITV, as well as newly preserved raw archival footage from the Protect Kaho‘olawe ʻOhana collection (1976 - 1977).
Kanopy Steaming Videos
A video streaming service providing thousands of high-quality full-length films and documentaries from hundreds of top producers.

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices
Resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Contains over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.